You Thought Your Job Was Tough?

September 13, 2003 - All Friggin Morning

Tech Support Calls Tech Support

Wow. The irony that surrounds the tech environment is amazing. We get a call from someone with Brand X Internet (not us, if you get my drift). I begin to think that this is going to be a very long day. Calls coming in from peeps that don't even us our service, just take our tech support budget funds. Anyway, she says that noone with our service can send email to her or anyone else with Brand X. She spoke with their tech support for over an hour, who told them that the problem was not theirs, and that it was ours....Sounds like BS call-blowoff to me (Note: BS does not mean what you think it does....think DIAL-up). So I wakeup our sysadmin and ask him about what might be going on. I get a guarantee from him that it is not us. I call her back, and she says that Brand X told her the same thing, and that they could guarantee it as well. Damn, I can tell this is going to evolve into a new customer for life... Bah, so I decide that maybe it is not them OR us. I do a trace to BrandX.completeidiots and find that it stops right after hitting a couple EarthStink servers. BINGO. So, I let her know about that and send her to their support department, armed with info that she has no idea what it means. I then decide that I need to have Brand X's trace as well.Irony to follow: I have no other alternative, so I call their 800 number and run the guantlet, just as your average joe would. I get through about 3,566,346,8367 minutes later and a LoTR soundtrack marathon and speak to a guy named Loser (name has been changed). I let him know the scoop and I ask him to run a traceroute. After a little fumbling around he says that he does not have the tool to do so... I tell him about the DOS command "tracert", and to my surprise and disappointment, he didn't know about it. He tries it, and tells me that the firewall there blocks it. Sux0r again. So he tells me that he is going to contact his supervisors (Read: Red Tape Out The Bunghole) and they will get back with me. I thank him for his help, and give him my email here, as well as an alternate due to a delivery problem. He does email me back (wow, he CARES!) and he gives me some contact info for a guy somewhere withe EarthStink, along with an email address. Not much else I can do now but wait on my superiors to get everything straightened out. This will always be the day I remember as "Call tech support for another company while you are getting paid to do tech support for another day". Man, I'm gonna go nuts on a chimney sweeper tonight. ~~GrapeApe

September 13, 2003 - 11:00 A.M.

Things that make you go "hmmmmmm"

Miss me? I didn't go in yesterday, as I was feeling a bit ill. When I checked my email this morning, I got one that made me laugh out loud. Here it is:

"My name is *removed*. I was connected to *removed*. My username is *removed* and my password is *removed*. I need my service terminated because I no longer want the Internet. Please e-mail back to let me know that my service has stopped. Thank you"

Let's look at that again... "Please e-mail back to let me know that my service has stopped."

The hell?

Later

September 7, 2003 - 7:30 P.M.

First post

Welcome to my new journal! This page will be for the use of my technical support crew to share stories about their work at the office. Also, it will contain a comic strip done by myself that portrays the antics of the staff here at the office I work at. I hope you find it entertaining!

Later,

~Johnny

before - after

hosted by DiaryLand.com